Additional Purchase Counties Named Exceptional Drought Areas

Jul 20, 2012

Four more counties in the Jackson Purchase have been given the ‘exceptional drought’ status by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

Caldwell, Lyon, Crittenden, and Livingston Counties have been added to the existing list of drought plagued areas of the Commonwealth. The classification was issued by the National Drought Mitigation center, and represents its highest level of warning. Areas of Eastern Missouri, Northwestern Tennessee, Southern Illinois and the Jackson Purchase all have areas of extreme drought.