Murray State to Confer 1,509 Degrees in Spring 2018 Commencement

May 8, 2018

Credit Courtesy of Murray State University

Murray State University will confer a total of 1,509 pending degrees in two commencement ceremonies this Saturday. 

The undergraduate ceremony is at 9 a.m. and the graduate and doctoral ceremony is at 2 p.m. Both events are in the CFSB Center. Students represent 28 states and 23 countries.

The doors open at 8 a.m. for the undergraduate service and 1 p.m. for the graduate and doctoral students. Seating is available on a first-come, first-serve basis.

The Murray State University Army ROTC Color Guard begins with the Presentation of Colors. Distinguished Professor Susan Edington will serve as the mace-bearer.

Outstanding undergraduate seniors are Laura Guebert and Charles Graves. Guebert is graduating with a bachelor’s degree in history. Graves is graduating with bachelor’s degrees in accounting and mathematics.

The recipients of the Regents Teaching Award for Excellence will lead faculty into the arena. The recipients are Frances Smith, Brian Bourke, Deborah Bell, Yoko Hatakeyama, Rebecca Williams, Elizabeth Donovan, Sterling Wright and Shea Porr.

They will be joined by Max Carman Teaching Excellence Recipient Amelia Dodd, Presidential Research Fellow Juyoung Song, University Distinguished Mentor Yoko Hatakeyama, Distinguished Researcher Randall Black, Faculty Advisor of the Year Bassam Atieh and University Emerging Scholars Urmi Engineer and Gary ZeRuth.

The Faculty Marshals are Traci Byrd, Heath Keller,  Michael Kemp, Robert Lyons, Melony Shemberger, Matthew Shultz and F. Gilland Welsch.

Murray State President Bob Davies will preside over the ceremonies. Davies and Provost Mark Arant will administer the Presentation of Candidates for Degrees.