Some Members of State Education Com. Surprised by Gov. Bevin's Sudden Appointments

Apr 29, 2016

Credit Gage Skidmore, Creative Commons

  Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin has significantly altered the makeup of the Postsecondary Education Nominating Committee. The seven member council recommends appointments to Bevin for members of state university governing boards.

Bevin  has replaced four of the members, two of which had unexpired terms. Katie Beard of Bowling Green was appointed by former Governor Steve Beshear last summer.  Beard was caught off guard when she learned she had been replaced, saying she wasn’t notified by any of the government offices.

Mark Wilson of Fancy Farm is replacing one of the previously appointed members, he says he was also surprised.

“I was not expecting the nomination, but I did get a call about a week or two before from Governor Bevin’s office asking if I did have some interest in it, and naturally, yes I did,” says Wilson.

Beard was not reappointed when the Senate failed to confirm her as a member of the board.  The Legislative Research Commission reports some, but not all, appointments to boards and commissions require senate confirmation and there is no formal notification protocol for members of their status.   Bevin’s Office of Boards and Commissions would not comment on their committee selection process.  

  • Dwight Sears, of Somerset, is replacing Debbie Hatfield of Somerset, for a term expiring April 14, 2022.

  • Edwin Orange, of Frankfort, is replacing Shae Hopkins of Lexington, for a term expiring April 14, 2022.

  • Robert M. Billingsley, of Smiths Grove, is replacing Katie Beard-Stinnett of Bowling Green, for the remainder of the unexpired term ending April 14, 2020.

  • Mark Wilson, of Fancy Farm, is replacing Teresa Grubbs of Paducah, for the remainder of the unexpired term ending April 14, 2020.

  • Kimberly S. McCann, of Ashland, has been reappointed for a term expiring April 14, 2022.