Bevin Appoints 5 West Kentucky Community And Technical College Board Members

Aug 21, 2018

The West Kentucky Community and Technical College Board of Directors has five new members. 

Governor Matt Bevin made the appointments on Tuesday.

Barry McDonald of Mayfield, Charles Murphy of Hickman, Dennis Lacy of Hopkinsville, Donna Pearson of Murray and Jeff Simms of Princeton will serve on the board for the next several years.

McDonald works for Bill Adams Construction Inc., Murphy is a relationship manager for River Valley Ag Credit and Lacy is a retired teacher and veteran. All three will have their terms expire in April 2024.

Pearson is a professional safety consultant for Pearson Safety Services LLC and her term will expire in April 2019. Simms is a bank loan officer for Farmers Bank and Trust. His term will expire in April 2020. 

Per WKCTC Public Relations Coordinator Tammy Thompson, Pearson was appointed on August 8. The others were appointed August 15. The first board meeting is October 2.

Seven of WKCTC’s 10 Board of Directors are appointed by the Governor.

The Board is responsible for adopting and implementing an annual budget, approving budget requests and evaluates the president.

This story has been updated. The original release from the governor's office said of board responsibilities "...and evaluating the functions of the school and the school's staff." According to WKCTC Director of Marketing and Communications Janett Blythe, the board does not evaluate the school or the school's staff. It does, however, evaluate the president.