Former Murray State Football Coach to be Inducted into OVC Hall of Fame

May 6, 2016

Frank Beamer

Former Murray State and Virginia Tech football coach Frank Beamer is being inducted into the Ohio Valley Conference Hall of Fame.  

The OVC Hall of Fame induction class announced Friday also includes former Austin Peay Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Gaines Hunt and former Jacksonville State President Dr. William Meehan. The Ohio Valley Conference Hall of Fame was organized in 1977 to honor coaches, faculty and administrators associated with the OVC.  

Frank Beamer coached the Racers from 1981 to 1986 and posted a 42-23-2 record before beginning his 29-season head coaching tenure at Virginia Tech.  

He retired at the end of the 2015 season with a combined record of 280-143-4 at Murray State and Virginia Tech making him one of the top 15 winningest coaches in college football history.  

“I'm very happy that the OVC has chosen to recognize Coach Beamer with his induction into the Hall of Fame,” said Murray State Director of Athletics Allen Ward. “Coach Beamer is one of the all-time great coaches in college football and certainly at the top of the list when it comes to coaches with impeccable integrity and class.  It's an honor to have him forever connected to Murray State and we will always be grateful for his remarkable contributions to our program.”

A ceremony will be held June 3 in Nashville.  

According to MSU Athletics, Beamer is now the 11th Murray State coach or administrator to join the OVC Hall of Fame joining Roy Stewart (1977), J. D. Rayburn (1979), Johnny Reagan (1988), Bennie Purcell (1990), Dr. Kala Stroup (1997), Cal Luther (2000), Bill Cornell (2005), Steve Newton (2007), Elvis Green (2008) and Margaret Simmons (2014).