News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WKMS News Wins Kentucky Associated Press Broadcast Awards


WKMS is proud to announce another set of awards for its newsroom. The Kentucky Associated Press notified WKMS that its work in 2019 for Murray State’s listener-supported public radio service has taken home many KAPB awards.

In the professional category, Liam Niemeyer won first place and WKMS Student Reporter Sydni Anderson won second place in the category Use of Sound for pieces "Kentucky Caviar: How One West Kentucky Fish Market is Betting on Fish Eggs” and "Community Gathers at Candlelight Vigil for Missing Woman Samantha Sperry." Niemeyer also won second place in the category Enterprise Reporting for "Kentucky Supreme Court Candidate’s Rhetoric Raises Ethical Questions"

In the college category:

Best Feature Story: Hannah Bullard won second and third place for "Hopkinsville Pow-Wow Celebrates and Preserves Native Tradition" and "Relocated: Memorial to Largest Loss of Life Event in the History of the 101st Airborne Division" respectively.  

Best News Story: Dalton York and Sydni Anderson won first place on their joint story "West Kentuckians Reflect on Partisanship and Political Dialogue."

Best Digital Journalist: WKMS Students swept this category with Sydni Anderson winning first place, Hannah Bullard second place, and Cory Scharber third place.  

Best Newscast: Dalton York won second place.

Best Public Affairs: Bri Hunter won first place with "Inside the Life of a West Kentucky First-Time Voter."

Best of Show in Radio: Bri Hunter, Murray State University. 

The WKMS News Room is supported by listener donations. Consider supporting award winning local news at

Jenni holds a degree in Music Education from Murray State University and a Masters degree in Arts Administration from Florida State University's College of Music. She's equipped with knowledge and enthusiasm for fundraising and the arts. She also serves as a Girl Scout Troop Leader and on the Murray Independent School District Foundation Board.