News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Scholarship Created For Murray State Earth And Environmental Sciences Students

Murray State University
(from left to right) Dr. Robin Zhang, Jennie Rottinghaus, Dr. George Kipphut and Dr. Claire Fuller.

A former Murray State Geosciences professor is establishing an annual scholarship at the university for students preparing for careers in earth and environmental sciences.

George Kipphut worked at Murray State for 25 years prior to his retirement in 2016.

The scholarship is named in honor of his parents and has a minimum award amount of $750 per student in an academic year.

The search committee will take into consideration a student’s financial need and extracurricular involvement.

Kipphut served as the former chair for the former geosciences department. He was successful in securing a number of grants and publication opportunities over the course of his career in addition to being the recipient of several Murray State honors, including the Neil Weber Award for Excellence and the Max Carman Outstanding Teacher Award. He was twice appointed by two different governors of Kentucky as the state geographer for the Commonwealth.

Students can begin applying for the scholarship on September 2. The first award will be given in fall 2019.

Taylor is a recent Murray State University graduate where she studied journalism and history. When she's not reporting for WKMS, she enjoys creative writing and traveling. She loves writing stories that involve diversity, local culture and history, nature and recreation, art and music, and national or local politics. If you have a news tip or idea, shoot her an email at!
Related Content