News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
We’re having some technical issues with WKMD 90.9 FM in Madisonville. The signal is currently at low power and we’re working to get back up fully. Thanks for your patience.

Kentucky Postsecondary Institutions Receive Funding From COVID-19 Relief Package

Murray State University

Postsecondary institutions in Kentucky are taking advantage of $203,628,298 in COVID-19 relief funding authorized by Congress in December. Murray State University is among them, and set to receive $10.2 million.

According to a release from U.S. Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, the U.S. Department of Education will distribute the funds to dozens of colleges and universities in the commonwealth.

“Kentucky’s colleges and universities have taken bold and innovative steps to protect their campus communities during the COVID-19 pandemic. I’m proud to announce these additional federal resources that will support students as they pursue their education and reach for their goals,” said McConnell. “With the increasing distribution of safe and effective vaccines across Kentucky, we are closer than ever to ending this crisis. As we do, our institutions of higher education are well-positioned to help our Commonwealth come roaring back.”

View the full list of Kentucky institutions receiving funding below:


Alice Lloyd College


American College of Barbering


American National University


Appalachian Beauty School


Asbury Theological Seminary


Asbury University


Ashland Community and Technical College


ATA College


Barrett & Company School of Hair Design


Beckfield College


Bellarmine University


Berea College


Big Sandy Community and Technical College


Brescia University


Campbellsville University


Centre College of Kentucky


Eastern Kentucky University


Elizabethtown Community and Technical College


Galen Health Institutes


Georgetown College


Henderson Community College


Hopkinsville Community College


Ideal Beauty Academy


Jenny Lea Academy of Cosmetology


Kentucky Christian University


Kentucky Horseshoeing School


Kentucky State University


Kentucky Wesleyan College


Lexington Healing Arts Academy


Lexington Theological Seminary


Lindsey Institute of Cosmetology


Lindsey Wilson College


Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary


Medical Career and Technical College


MedQuest College


Midway University


Morehead State University


Murray State University


Paul Mitchell The School Lexington


Paul Mitchell The School ? Louisville


PJ's College of Cosmetology


PJ's College of Cosmetology


Regina Webb Academy


Somerset Community College


Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College


Spalding University


Summit Salon Academy


Thomas More University


Transylvania University


Tri?State Barber College


Union College


University of Kentucky


University of Louisville


University of Pikeville


University of the Cumberlands


West Kentucky Community and Technical College


Western Kentucky University



Dalton York is a Morning Edition host and reporter for WKYU in Bowling Green. He is a graduate of Murray State University, where he majored in History with a minor in Nonprofit Leadership Studies. While attending Murray State, he worked as a student reporter at WKMS. A native of Marshall County, he is a proud product of his tight-knit community.
Related Content