News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Republican Voters in Carlisle, Livingston Will Have to Caucus in Other Counties

RPK, via Facebook

The Republican Party of Kentucky has announced the details of its March 5 presidential caucus via a new website aimed at educating voters about the new system.

A handful of Kentucky's 120 counties will not have a caucus location. Voters in those counties - including Carlisle and Livingston - will have to cast their votes in another county or vote by absentee ballot. 

Republican voters in Carlisle County will caucus at Ballard Memorial High School in Barlow. Those in Livingston County will have to travel to Central Elementary in Marshall County to vote. Absentee voting applications must be received at the state party's headquarters by February 19.

Nine counties in total do not have caucus locations: Carlisle, Livingston, Knott, Trimble, Estill, Owsley, Harlan, Morgan and Elliott.

The RPK decided to make the switch to a presidential caucus in 2016 so Sen. Rand Paul can run for both president and re-election. Among the GOP field for president, Jeb Bush, Donald Trump, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, John Kasich, Marco Rubio, Ted Cruz and Paul have filed.

Voters have until December 31 to switch their party affiliation in order to participate in next year's caucus or primary.

John Null is the host and creator of Left of the Dial. From 2013-2016, he also served as a reporter in the WKMS newsroom.
Related Content