News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

FEMA help is now available for 12 Tennessee counties hit by last month's tornado outbreak

Damon Mitchell
An EF-2 tornado damaged this Kingston Springs, Tennessee, home on Dec. 11, 2021.

Tennesseans affected by last month’s deadly tornadoes are now able to apply for FEMA disaster assistance, a week after President Biden declared a major federal disaster declaration.

Residents of twelve counties spanning the northwest corner of the state qualify for federal help. Those counties include Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Gibson, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Obion, Stewart, Sumner, Weakley and Wilson counties.

The relief covers temporary lodging, home repairs and medical expenses not covered by insurance.

Tennessee’s Emergency Management Agency warns that scammers may take advantage of tornado survivors by posing as FEMA representatives. Real disaster aid workers will not ask for money or your banking information.

To register, call FEMA at 800-621-3362 or go online to

Marianna Bacallao
Related Content