News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Public Invited To Discuss Court System Response To Handling Of Domestic Violence, Sexual Violence Cases

Istock photo

The Administrative Office of the Courts is inviting Kentuckians to offer virtual feedback on the state court system’s handling of cases involving domestic violence, stalking and sexual violence.

A press release Tuesday from the Administrative Office of the Courts states there will be four consecutive virtual forums on seperate days starting Sept. 27 through Sept. 30th. The meetings begin at 4 p.m. ET, or 3 p.m. CT.

“These situations are devastating to the individuals and their families and we want to do everything we can to ensure our court professionals are trained and equipped to serve them,” said Vanessa Chauhan in a statement, the office’s domestic violence program coordinator.

Registration is required to be allowed into the Zoom call. Register here to reserve a spot in the meeting. A Zoom video conference meeting link will be sent in an email after registration and confirmation. A spokesperson for the office did not immediately have information on if a private option to offer feedback would be available.

The designated counties for each forum are as followed:

Sept. 27: For citizens residing or working in these counties: Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Greenup, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Rockcastle, Whitley and Wolfe.

Sept. 28: For citizens residing or working in these counties: Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Clark, Fayette, Fleming, Franklin, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Powell, Robertson, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Trimble and Woodford.

Sept. 29: For citizens residing or working in these counties: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Boyle, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Hart, LaRue, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, McCreary, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Pulaski, Russell, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Warren, Washington and Wayne.

Sept. 30: For citizens residing or working in these counties: Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Fulton, Graves, Hancock, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster.

The Administrative Office of the Courts previously held this summer a series of virtual town halls seeking feedback on the state’s foster care system.

Madeline is an English major and education minor, with aspirations of teaching high school English after graduation.
Related Content