News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Government & Politics

Kentucky Primary Tuesday, Who's on the Tickets in Our Region:

123rf Stock Photo

The Kentucky Primary Election is tomorrow (Tuesday), May 17. Polls open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Voters of both party affiliations will head to the polls. Here are the races and candidates in the WKMS Listening Area:


Democrats will choose between Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders. 55 delegates are up for grabs. Martin O'Malley and Rocky De La Fuente are also on the ticket.

Republicans voted in a March caucus. Donald Trump won the Kentucky Republican Presidential Caucus with  nearly 36% of the vote.

U.S. Senate:

There are seven Democrats on the ballot: Jim Gray, Rory Houlihan, Jeff Kender, Ron Leach, Tom Rektenwald, Grant Short and Sellus Wilder. 

There are three Republicans on the ballot: James Gould, incumbent Rand Paul and Stephen Howard Slaughter.

U.S. First District House:

There are two Democrats on the ballot: Tom Osborne* and Sam Gaskins

*Osborne has dropped out of the race.

There are four Republicans on the ballot: Mike Pape, Miles Caughey Jr., Jason Batts and James Comer.

KY 8th District State House Representative: 

There are two Democrats on the ballot: incumbent Jeff Taylor and John Ward Thomas*

*John Ward Thomas has dropped out of the race.

KY 16th District State House Representative:

On the Republican ticket there are two candidates: Ami Brooks and Jason Petrie. 

Paducah Mayor:

A nonpartisan city ballot, there are five running for Paducah Mayor: Arthur Baskin, incumbent Gayle Kaler, Brandi Harless, Louis Elliot Polach* and Buzz VonTesmar. The top two vote-getters advance to the general election.

*Louis Elliot Polach dropped out of the race.

Paducah City Commissioner

A nonpartisan ballot, there are 12 candidates in this race: Sandra Wilson, Eddie Jones, Raynarido Henderson, Tracy Jones, Vicky Holland, Frank Bennett, Allan Rhodes, Brandon Duncan, Tony Veltri, Sarah Stewart Holland, Richard Abraham and Anne Fowler Gwinn. Voters choose four. The top eight vote-getters will move on to the general election where the top four vote-getters will get the position. 

Webster County Circuit Clerk

Three candidates on the Democratic ticket: incumbent Debbie Austin, Raegina Dacy Scott and Jennifer Pigman Davis.

Madisonville City Council Ward 1

Two on the ballot: Susan Dorris Houck and David Oakley. Voters pick one. 

Madisonville City Council Ward 3

Two on the ballot: James Daniels and Raymond Marion Jr. Voters pick one.

Graves County Coroner:

On the Democratic ballot Brad Jones and Leonard May are running for coroner.

Union County Jailer:

There are two on the Democratic ballot: Michelle Steele and Shawn Elder.

Related Content