News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

GOP Keeps Same Leadership Team in Kentucky Senate

J. Tyler Franklin/WFPL

Republicans are keeping their same leadership team in the Kentucky Senate as the GOP prepares for a new era of complete control of the General Assembly.

Senate President Robert Stivers of Manchester was re-elected by his fellow Republicans for the chamber's top position as leaders for the next two years were announced Monday.

Sen. David Givens of Greensburg was re-elected as Senate president pro tem.

GOP dominance in the chamber guarantees both will be officially chosen for the posts at the start of next year's legislative session.

Also re-elected to his leadership position was Senate Majority Floor Leader Damon Thayer of Georgetown. Rounding out the GOP's Senate leadership team are Senate Majority Caucus Chair Dan Seum and Senate Majority Whip Jimmy Higdon.

Republicans won control of the House in this month's election.

Related Content