News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Candidates Set For Tennessee 77th House District Election After Primaries

Lukasz Stefanski
123rf Stock Photo

  Two candidates will face off in December to see who will represent northwest Tennessee in the state House of Representatives.

Republican Rusty Grills and Democrat Michael Smith won their respective primaries for 77th House District seat. The 77th District of Tennessee includes the counties of Dyer, Lake, and Obion.

The seat was left vacant after Bill Anderson resigned this July for family and business reasons. Republican Casey Hood was appointed as an interim representative by the Obion County Commission.

Grills received 55.9% of the votes to beat out Hood, who captured 25.47% of the votes. Other Republican candidates were Bob Kirk and Vanedda Prince Webb.

Kirk lost with 10.1% of the votes and Webb lost with 8.55% of the votes.

Smith ran unopposed in his Democratic primary. A special general election between Grills and Smith is December 19.


Hannah is a Murray State Journalism major. She found her place in radio during her second year in Murray. She is from Herndon, KY, a small farming community on the Kentucky/Tennessee stateline.
Related Content