News and Music Discovery
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

COVID-19 Cases Close Seven Kentucky Driver Licensing Facilities


Coronavirus outbreaks have temporarily closed three regional driver licensing offices and four smaller field offices in the Commonwealth.  All are expected to re-open next week.

The transportation cabinet’s three Regional Driver Licensing Offices are located in Lexington, Jackson, and Columbia.  The four field offices are situated in Florence, Catlettsburg, Bowling Green, and Owensboro.  Each office will be thoroughly sanitized in keeping with Healthy at Work guidelines. 

Regional offices continue to operate in a number of other cities including Richmond, Frankfort, Somerset, and Prestonsburg.  Kentucky residents, regardless of where they live, can go to any regional or field office to apply for a REAL ID or standard driver’s license, or identification card, provided they don’t require driver testing by Kentucky State Police.

Related Content